Lush vegetation now covers what used to be homesteads, logging camps and mining towns. Breathtaking cliffs, arches, rock shelters, chimneys and other geological features are carved into the sandstone. 125,000 acre area offers a broad range of recreational opportunities such as camping, whitewater rafting, kayaking, canoeing, hiking, horseback riding, mountain biking, hunting and fishing.
Train runs approx. 4 days a week in the summer and 5 in October. The rest of the months vary from one to two days. Museum located nearby along with a number of shops and restaurants. Railway tour takes visitors to restored mining towns to see what life was like.
Blue Heron Mining Community, Big South Fork National River & Recreation Area
Blue Heron, Mine 18, is an abandoned coal mining town and was a part of the Stearns Coal and Lumber Company's past operation. The Blue Heron mines operated from 1937 until December 1962, when operations were no longer profitable. During that time, hundreds of people lived and worked in this isolated community on the banks of the Big South Fork River. Their story is the story of Blue Heron. In addition to the outdoor museum, Blue Heron offers hiking and horse trails, canoe access, restrooms and food services (food is only available when the Big South Fork Scenic Railway is in operation).
Provides the recreational use of over 45,000 acres. Offer outdoor enthusiasts the opportunity to explore the untamed wilderness of the Appalachian Mountains while enjoying a wide array of recreational activities such as ATV riding, hunting, fishing, horseback riding, mountain biking, hiking and bird watching.
Established to discover, procure, and preserve whatever may relate to the natural, civil, literary and ecclesiastical history of the United States and of the state of Tennessee in general and to the County of Clay. The museum is open Monday through Saturday form 10 a.m. Until 2 p.m.
This State Park is basically three buildings. One is the Visitor Center which offers a small museum with Cordell Hull artifacts, a short movie and small gift shop. The second building serves as offices, work area and meeting space. The third building is the furnished log cabin of Cordell Hull.
Resort, restaurant, cabins, hiking trails, campsites, horseback riding, swimming pool. The Cumberland Falls enjoy an international acclaim for its Moon Bows. The Falls themselves are the largest in Kentucky and is known as the "Niagara of the South". The falls are 125 feet wide with a 60 foot drop.
Visitation hours are 7:30A to 3:30P (CST) daily. More than 55,000 visitors yearly. Hatchery tours are available along with off-site presentations, aquarium/visitor center, walking/exercise road. and a public fishing area. A few of the goals of Fish & Wildlife are to provide rainbow, brown, and lake trout for mitigation stocking in Tennessee and Georgia and to provide rainbow trout to Alabama in return for Gulf Coast striped bass eggs and fry.
- shops, restaurants, historic buildings. Have a lake within a few blocks of the downtown that offers a walking trail, park, amphitheater and playground. Governor Robert's Law Office is well preserved and within walking distance, also see historic marker.
Norris Dam was the first dam constructed by the TVA. 34,200 acres. Norris Lake is well-known for its opportunities for fishing, swimming, water skiing, and boating. Numerous marinas nestled between the East Tennessee ridges and the shoreline provide accommodations and the amenities needed for any water recreation. Norris produces excellent catches of rock fish, bass, walleye, and crappie. Boat launching is available at the local marinas and at public launching ramps provided by TVA.
This is a restored Victorian village founded in 1880 by British author and social reformer, Thomas Hughes. It was supposed to be a cooperative, class-free, agricultural community for English gentry and others wishing to start life anew in America. At its peak, some 350 people lived in the colony. Over 70 buildings of Victorian design once graced the East Tennessee townscape. This would-be Utopia survives today as both a living community and a fascinating historic site with twenty original buildings. Open year-round.
Standing Stone State Park 1674 Standing Stone Park Hwy
Hilham, TN 38568
Lodge, camping, cabins, pool, bathhouse, picnic areas, conference center, Moses Fisk Historic Home. 11,000 acres on the Cumberland Plateau. Rustic park is noted for its outstanding scenery, spring wildflowers, fossils and other natural diversity. Takes its name from the Standing Stone, an eight foot tall rock standing upright on a sandstone ledge was supposedly a boundary line between two Indian nations. Legend says that when the rock fell, the Indians placed a portion of it upon a improvised monument to preserve it. The Stone is preserved in Monterey, Tennessee.
This park located in Pall Mall, Tennessee, pays tribute to Sgt. Alvin C. York, the backwoods marksman from the mountains of Tennessee who became one of the most decorated soldiers of World War I. On October 8, 1918 in the Argonne Forest in France, York found himself alone opposing a German machine gun unit. With rifle and pistol he engaged the enemy. The fight ended with more than twenty Germans dead. For that he was decorated with a dozen metals, including the Congressional Medal of Honor and the French Croix de Guerre.
WMTH CORPORATION PO BOX 51153 BOWLING GREEN, KY 42102 PHONE (270) 792-5300 FAX 721-0004